Space Physics

Space physics

Space physics is the study of the physical phenomena and dynamic processes that occur in  the solar system, including but not limited to the solar atmosphere, the interplanetary space, and the planetary space. The space-physics division was established in 1958, the same time when USTC was established. It started to confer PhD degrees in 1998 and to host post-doctoral scholars in 2003. Currently, there are two academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and 16 full professors, who are actively pursuing a wide spectrum of research topics critical to space weather, including solar physics, interplanetary physics, magnetospheric physics, ionospheric physics, upper and middle atmosphere physics, etc., using diverse approaches ranging from laboratory experiments, spacecraft data analysis, to numeric modeling and simulation.